Skip to main content

HCTC Library Orientation and Research Guide: START HERE

This guide is meant to help HCTC library users locate and use library resources and aid them in their research.

Welcome!

Welcome to HCTC Libraries at the Hazard Campus, Lees College Campus, and Extended Campus.

  • At HCTC Libraries, students, faculty, and staff can find a comfortable place to relax and study.
  • Students can check their email and do homework on library computers or bring their own laptops to access the wireless connection.
  • HCTC Library personnel are there to help students find the resources they need for their assignments.
  • Students can search book collections through the KCTCS online library catalog.
  • They can also search library databases online for electronic books, as well as magazine, newspaper, and journal articles.
  • HCTC Libraries are proud to offer special events like the annual Evening with Poets.
  • If you are an online student, the extended campus librarian is ready to help you find what you need.
Thank you for visiting HCTC Libraries.

HCTC Libraries Services include book and eBook access, audiovisual access, research assistance, copying and printing, periodicals access, free wifi, and public computer access. Follow HCTC_Library on Twitter!

HCTC Libraries Information Literacy Rubric: Based on the ACRL Standards and ACRL Framework (Click Here for More Faculty & Staff Resources)

IL Standard

Proficient

Developing

Beginning

Research as Inquiry

(Determine the Extent of Information Needed)

-Effectively defines scope of research needs

-Key concepts identified

-Asks questions which contribute to iterative research, creating questions for other researchers in the same or related fields to explore and expand upon

-Information sources chosen effectively answer research questions

-Partially defines scope of research needs

-Some key concepts identified

-Recognizes research as iterative, begins to ask questions which could contribute to deepening understanding of the field

-Information sources chosen partially answer research question

-Does not recognize or mischaracterizes the scope of the research need

-Does not acknowledge the questioning process within the field or pose questions to broaden the conversation

-Information Sources do not answer the research question

Searching is Strategic (Evaluate Information and its Sources Critically, Access the Needed Information, Incorporate selected information into one’s knowledge base)

-Utilizes a broad range of sources appropriate to the information need

-Effectively employs search strategies to meet information need

-Chooses the most effective information sources to answer research questions

-Credibility of sources is established

-Demonstrates understanding of knowledge growth as research is conducted, including the ability to change research need/search strategies to meet new understanding of topics

-Utilizes a broad range of sources appropriate to the information need

-Employs some effective search strategies and some ineffective

-Chooses some effective information sources to answer part of the research question

-Credibility of sources is established using some criteria but not a full range

-Develops a burgeoning understanding that research is non-linear, some alternative information seeking paths established

-Utilizes a narrow range of sources, not all appropriate to the information need

-Employs ineffective or erratic search strategies

-Chosen information sources do not answer the research question

-No to little credibility of sources is established

-No understanding of research as a non-linear process and as a result no alternative research strategies utilized or deepening of understanding of the topic

Authority is Constructed and Contextual

-Demonstrates a skepticism in authority, does not take information purported to be authoritative at face value

-Recognizes authoritative sources benefit from traditional schools of thought and “authorities” may not represent diverse voices in the field who do not conform to traditional demographics

-Demonstrates an openness to new perspectives in the chosen research field(s)

-Beginning to question “authoritative” voices within a field

-Some recognition/acknowledgement that authorities in a field have benefited from traditionalism

-Incorporates some new perspectives in the field(s)

-Does not question authoritative voices in the field, takes all information claiming to be authoritative at face value

-No recognition that authorities in a field have benefited from traditional standards of authoritative constructs

-No new perspectives which deviate from traditional views of the field acknowledged

Scholarship is a Conversation

-Recognizes that research is a sustained discourse within a community

-Recognizes their own role and responsibility as a contributor to that scholarly conversation

-Recognizes that research is a sustained discourse within a community

-Some recognition of their own role and responsibility as a contributor to that scholarly conversation

-Does not recognize that research is a sustained discourse within a community

-No recognition of their own role and responsibility as a contributor to that scholarly conversation

Information Creation as a Process (Use Information Effectively to Accomplish a Specific Purpose)

-Chosen sources are used efficiently to achieve a specific purpose

-Sources combine to communicate the research need effectively without contradiction to thesis, question, etc.

-Demonstrates a clear understanding of the creation process of the chosen sources and an understanding that the sources were created for a specific purpose in and of themselves

-Chosen sources somewhat effectively achieve the purpose of the research need, part of the research need is not fully achieved

-Sources combine to communicate the research need effectively without contradiction to thesis, question, etc.

-Demonstrates some understanding that their sources were created towards a specific purpose and acknowledges the creation process

-Chosen sources do not effectively achieve the purpose of the research need

-Sources contradict each other or the research thesis, question, theory, etc., or do not combine to support the user’s information need

-Does not demonstrate an understanding of the creation process or the purpose of the original source

Information has value (Access and Use Information Ethically and Legally)

-Ethically uses information by attributing summarizations, paraphrasing, and quotations to original authors

-Demonstrates knowledge of fair use practices

-Includes correct and appropriate citations of sources used.

-Understands that information is a commodity as well as a means of education and can be used to influence consumers

-Understands that information is impacted by legal, sociopolitical, and economic interests (identifies conflicts of interest that may be present in information sources/authors, etc.

-Ethically uses information by attributing summarizations, paraphrasing, and quotations to original authors

-Demonstrates knowledge of fair use practices

-Includes citations of sources used with some errors

-Demonstrates some understanding of information as a commodity and means of influence

-Demonstrates some understanding of the legal, sociopolitical, and economic interests impacts on the information seeking process, may use sources which contain conflicts of interest

-Does not attribute summarizations, paraphrasing, and quotations to original authors

-Does not demonstrate knowledge of fair use practices

-Does not include citations or citations contain many errors

-Does not demonstrate understanding of information as a commodity and means of influence

-Does not demonstrate understanding of the legal, sociopolitical, and economic interests impacts on the information seeking process, uses sources which contain conflicts of interest or are market driven, for-profit

For Faculty: To create custom instructional content to compliment your course please contact Evelyn Hudson at ehudson0018@kctcs.edu or ext. 73147. 

What is Information Literacy? Information literacy includes the user asking themselves questions such as: What kind of information do I need? Where can I find information for my subject? Who authored this source and why should I trust them? What can I add to this subject? For what purpose was this originally created? What value does this author place on their work? Adapted from the American Library Association ACRL Information Literacy Framework.What is Digital Literacy? Digital Literacy means a user is proficient in critical thinking and evaluation, e-safety, cultural and social understanding, collaboration, curate information, proficient communicator, creativity, and practical and functional skills. Digital technologies confront users with the need to master a wide range of technological, cognitive, and social competencies-collectively termed “Digital Literacy.”

Loading ...

Stephens Library

Exterior facade of Jolly Classroom Center on HCTC Campus

Stephens Library Located Inside the Jolly Classroom Center

Circulation desk located within the Stephens Library front entrance

Circulation Desk

Computers arranged against the wall for public and student access

Public Computers

Private study carrels with partitions arranged in groups

Study Carrels for Private Study

Books contained in the main section of shelves called the stacks.

Book Stacks

Fall 2018 Hours

 

Monday

8:00 am-5:00 pm

Tuesday

8:00 am-7:30 pm

Wednesday

8:00 am-5:00 pm

Thursday

8:00 am-5:00 pm

Friday

8:00 am-4:30 pm

Special Closings:

Labor Day-September 3, 2018

Thanksgiving Break-November 22-23, 2018

Christmas Break-December 24-28, 2018

Fall 2018 Hours

 

Monday

8:00 am-5:00 pm

Tuesday

8:00 am-5:00 pm

Wednesday

8:00 am-5:00 pm

Thursday

8:00 am-5:00 pm

Friday

8:00 am-4:30 pm

Special Closings:

Labor Day-September 3, 2018

Thanksgiving Break-November 22-23, 2018

Christmas Break-December 24-28, 2018

Loading ...

Lees College Campus Library

Exterior facade of Library Science Building on Lees College Campus

Lees College Library Located on the First Floor of the Library Science Building

Circulation Desk

Entry Seating with Print Periodicals

Library Classroom with Public Computer Stations (Check for Reserved Signs)

Lower Level, First Floor With Computers, Print Station, and Mobile Device Charging Station

Main Collection

Downstairs Kentucky/Appalachian Collection

Dewey Collection (Older Editions)