Bluegrass and Traditional Music Resource Guide: Music Collections

Housed at Morehead State University, the “Traditional Music Archives,” focuses primarily on music and artists from Kentucky. Because of our location and interest, we are uniquely qualified and able to develop and house resources within this emphasis for use by our students, scholars and the general public.

The Archives of Appalachia is a keeper of memories. We collect, preserve, and share the written words, sounds, and images of the people of Appalachia. We house nearly 18 million manuscripts, 75,000 sound recordings, and 250,000 still and moving images. The Archives weaves a story that must be told so those outside the region and those raised here can celebrate our Appalachian culture. No child of Appalachia should grow up unaware of the heritage that is his or hers.

The Jack Tottle Bluegrass and Old Time Music Collection was donated to the Archives of Appalachia by Jack Tottle on July 1, 1991.

The Appalachian Collection contains manuscripts and other primary materials that document the history and culture of Southwest Virginia and Appalachia. Collections include the Highland Summer Conference Collection and the Virginia, Iron, Coal and Coke Company Collection . In addition to these collections, McConnell Library has an extensive collection of books, CDs, video recordings, journals, and other materials related to Appalachia and Southwest Virginia.

The Appalachian State University Music Library, located on the second floor of the Broyhill Music Center, supports the curriculum of the Mariam Cannon Hayes School of Music and the University, and contains books, scores, and recordings.

A collection of ballads, folksongs, spirituals, and commercial country songs collected at Berea College (1911-1927). Hand or type written text and notation are included along with correspondence between Berea College staff and music researchers (1907-1975).
(1 ms box)