Skip to main content

HCTC Library Orientation and Research Guide: Find Your Sources

This guide is meant to help HCTC library users locate and use library resources and aid them in their research.

Narrow Subject by HCTC Databases

EBSCOhost Databases

Academic Search Complete

eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

MasterFILE Premier

Newspaper Source

TOPICsearch

American Doctoral Dissertations

Gale Databases

Academic OneFile

Opposing Viewpoints In Context

Pop Culture Collection

Other HCTC Databases

ProQuest

Learning Activity:

HCTC Databases Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia Credo Reference

EBSCOhost Databases

AHFS Consumer Medication Information

CINAHL

CINAHL with Full Text

(Preferred)

Health Source - Consumer Edition

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

MEDLINE

Gale Databases

Health Reference Center Academic

Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module

Nursing and Allied Health Collection

Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection

 

EBSCOhost Databases

ERIC

MAS Ultra - School Edition

Middle Search Plus

Primary Search

Professional Development Collection

Teacher Reference Center

Gale Databases

Testing & Education Reference Center

 

EBSCOhost Databases

Library Information Science & Technology Abstracts

Military & Government Collection

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection

PsycINFO

Social Work Reference Center

Sociological Collection

Gale Databases

Criminal Justice Collection

Diversity Studies Collection

Gender Studies Collection

Information Science and Library Issues Collection

Psychology Collection

War and Terrorism Collection

EBSCOhost Databases

Literary Reference Center Plus

Religion and Philosophy Collection

Gale Databases

Communications and Mass Media Collection

Fine Arts and Music Collection

Religion and Philosophy Collection

World History Collection

EBSCOhost Databases

Agricola

GreenFILE

Gale Databases

Agriculture Collection

Environmental Studies and Policy Collection

EBSCOhost Databases

Business Source Premier

Regional Business News

Small Business Reference Center

Gale Databases

Business Economics and Theory

Small Business Collection

 

Loading ...

Library of Congress Subject Headings

Search the Catalog or one of the many databases for library resources.  You can also browse the shelves for resources.

A Library of Congress call number is read, in order, alphabetically, numerically smallest to largest, alphabetically, numerically smallest to largest, and chronologically. So the number QL 121 .E579 2001 would be found after QL 120 .B2 2000 but before QM 121 .E5 2000. Library of Congress has divided their subjects into twenty-one main subjects which encompass every subject subdivision beneath those primary subjects. The top-level subjects are A-General Works, B-Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, C-Auxiliary Sciences of History, D-World History and History of Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, New Zealand, etc., E & F-History of Americas, G-Geography, Anthropology, Recreation, H-Social Sciences, J-Political Science, K-Law, L-Education, M-Music and Books on Music, N-Fine Arts, P-Language and Literature, Q-Science, R-Medicine, S-Agriculture, T-Technology, U-Military Science, V-Naval Science, and Z-Bibliography, Library Science, General Information Sources.

Search Strategies Infographic

Search tips for multi-discipline databases and search engines. Keywords are simple words and/or phrases important to the desired topic used to index search results. Boolean operators are a basic search algorithm, or method of data filtering, using and, or, not to create search phrases called queries. For example, the query cats and dogs will return results which contain both terms, instead of one or none. Truncation retrieves variations of the search term. For example, searching farm with a truncation symbol will also search the terms farms, farmer, and farming. Wildcards are used to replace any single character, either inside or the end of a word. For example, searching for colo with a wildcard symbol will search words like color and colon. A thesaurus is a listing of all subject terms in a single database or print document which shows relationships between words like related words, broader or narrower terms. Information retrieved from ProQuest Search Help.

A-Z Databases

Opposing Viewpoints Google Chrome Extension

See results from Opposing Viewpoints in Context, a Gale Research Database, alongside your Google results to help improve your academic searching skills.

Research Starting Point

Research starting point: how much do you know about your topic? If you would rate your knowledge of your topic as not very much you should begin your research with encyclopedic databases like Credo Reference or Wikipedia. These sources provide general background information. If you rate your knowledge of your topic as some, you may begin your research with magazines and newspapers which provide topical context and discussion. If you rate your knowledge of your topic as a lot, then you may want to begin your research with scholarly journals such as found in EBSCOhost or Gale Databases where you can find detailed sources on specifics topics and research questions. Most research projects will begin at Not Very Much.