LibGuides: Allied Health: Surgical Tech

On the Web

Careers in Surgical Technology

Click these links for more information about what a Surgical Technology career has to offer:

About This Surgical Technology Guide

This guide is designed for Surgical Technology students and faculty.

If you have trouble using this guide, or if you would like to contribute a resource you think is important to this field, please contact us.

Prepare for Surgical Technologist Certification -Learning Library Express

Go to the Learning Express Library
All Centers
Career Center
Take the Surgical Technologist Certification

For questions or troubleshooting, please contact the Library Director, Cathy Branson, at cathy.branson@kctcs.edu via email or (606) 487-3550 by phone.

General Resources and Tutorials

Health and Wellness
Find alternative medicine-focused magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, videos, & reference information on: Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Pregnancy, Herbal remedies, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, health assessment sites & government databases. Easily access 700+ videos from Healthology, Inc.'s consumer health video library. Spanish-language videos are available. The material contained in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only.
Health and Medicine
Health Reference Center Academic provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.

Books

The following books are availabe at the HCTC Libraries:

Berry and Kohn's Operating Room Technique by Nancymarie Phillips
Call Number: RD32.3 .P48 2013
Highly readable, accurate, and comprehensive, it covers the "nuts and bolts" of surgical techniques in a format that makes it easy to effectively apply basic principles to clinical practice. Expert author Nancymarie Phillips emphasizes the importance of teamwork throughout, with practical strategies and examples of how cooperation among perioperative caregivers contributes to positive patient care outcomes.
Differentiating Surgical Instruments by Colleen Rutherford
Call Number: RD71 .R88 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Here s a close-up look at more than 800 cutting, clamping, grasping, retracting, and other surgical instruments. Full-color photographs of the individual surgical instruments and their tips help you learn to distinguish among them.
Operating Room Skills by Nancy Dankanich
Call Number: RD32.3 .D36 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Operating Room Skills: Fundamentals for the Surgical Technologist teaches students fundamental operating room guiding principles and techniques.
Pharmacology Handbook for the Surgical Technologists by Jeff Feix
Call Number: RM300 .F38 2012
Publication Date: 2012
The 2nd Edition of Pharmacology Handbook for the Surgical Technologists provides the latest information about the drugs most often used in surgery.
Surgical Mayo Setups by Tammy Allhoff; Debbie Hinton
Call Number: RD37 .A455 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Whether you're an experienced surgical technologist, or operating room personnel or just starting out in the field, Surgical Mayo Setups, 2nd Edition is the reliable, detailed resource you need for success in any operating room!
Surgical Technology for the Surgical Technologist by Association of Surgical Technologists Staff
Call Number: RD32.3 .S866 2014
This book is the ultimate tool to help you apply the guidelines found in the Core Curriculum for Surgical Technology, published by the Association of Surgical Technologists

Librarian

Cathy Branson

Email Me

Contact:

Stephens Library
1 Community College Drive
Hazard, KY 41701
800-246-7521 (73550)

Lees College Campus Library
601 Jefferson Avenue
Jackson, KY 41339
800-246-7521 (73550)

Subjects: Appalachian Studies, Critical Thinking & Information Literacy, Distance Learning, Education, English, International, Nursing, Religion