Government Documents: Health & Medicine

NIH’s mission is to seek fundamental knowledge about the nature and behavior of living systems and the application of that knowledge to enhance health, lengthen life, and reduce illness and disability.

CDC increases the health security of our nation. As the nation’s health protection agency, CDC saves lives and protects people from health threats. To accomplish our mission, CDC conducts critical science and provides health information that protects our nation against expensive and dangerous health threats, and responds when these arise.

The Cabinet for Health and Family Services (CHFS) is home to most of the state's human services and health care programs, including Medicaid, the Department for Community Based Services and the Department for Public Health.

This webpage fro the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services provides resources and information for those dealing with traumatic events including drug abuse.

The Chemical Hazards Emergency Medical Management (CHEMM) database contains information on countermeasures used to treat opioid overdose.

This catalog contains drug and side effect information particularly related to opioids.

This webpage from Medline Plus gives information about heroin addiction.

This page from Medline Plus contains information for the general public regarding opioid abuse and addiction including information on treatment.

This webpage from Medline Plus provides information about prescription drug abuse.

H. R. 1628-Draft of Senate bill relating to the repeal of the Affordable Care Act (aka: Obamacare).

A list of electronic publications published by the DEA about preventing drug addiction.

A collection of eBooks published by federal agencies relating to healthcare and medical topics.

The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe. It also supports and conducts research, development, and training in biomedical informatics and health information technology.

This page provides links to the full text of the active legal language of the HIPAA Privacy Rule as well as a history of legislative changes to the rule.

This page from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services provides links to resources with information about vaccinations and immunizations.

This page from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services provides links to resources with information about nutrition and exercise.

This page from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services provides links to resources with information on where and how to get help with mental health and substance abuse issues and disorders.

This page from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services provides links to resources with information about public health and preventative measures for avoiding exposure to chemicals and some environmental risks.

DataMed is a prototype biomedical data search engine. Its goal is to discover data sets across data repositories or data aggregators. In the future it will allow searching outside these boundaries. DataMed supports the NIH-endorsed FAIR principles of Findability, Accessibility, Interoperability and Reusability of datasets with current functionality assisting in finding datasets and providing access information about them.

This website is the portal for applying for health insurance coverage under the guidelines of the current healthcare law in effect, the Affordable Care Act (ACA), known as Obamacare.

The NHQR quality measures are compared to achievable benchmarks, which are derived from the top-performing States. Better performance of a State can mean higher or lower values of a measure, depending on the desired outcome. For example, low values are desirable for measures such as infant mortality, whereas high values are desirable for measures such as preventative screening.

This page contains the full text of the complete final draft of the proposed modification to Kentucky's healthcare waiver.

This webpage contains information for applying for Medicaid services as a resident of the state of Kentucky and the eligibility requirements for qualifying for Medicaid assistance.

Benefind allows Kentucky’s families to easily access public assistance benefits and information 24/7 through an online application and account.