LibGuides: Characteristics of Sources: Source Types

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Hazard Community and Technical College
One Community College Drive
Hazard, KY 41701

(606) 487-3147 or (800) 246-7521 ext. 73147

Subjects: Appalachian Studies, Career Resources, Communication, Critical Thinking & Information Literacy, Distance Learning, Education, English, Music, Nursing, Recreational Reading, Tutorials (Library)

Stephens Library
Lees College Campus Library

Spring 2024 Hours
Monday	8:30 am-5:00 pm
Tuesday	8:30 am-5:00 pm
Wednesday	8:30 am-5:00 pm
Thursday	8:30 am-5:00 pm
Friday	8:30 am-5:00 pm

Special Closings:

January 15, 2024 - Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

February 19, 2024 - President's Day

March 29, 2024 - Good Friday (1/2 Day)

April 26, 2024 - Staff Development

*Hours are subject to change

Spring 2024 Hours
Monday	8:30 am-5:00 pm
Tuesday	8:30 am-5:00 pm
Wednesday	8:30 am-5:00 pm
Thursday	8:30 am-5:00 pm
Friday	8:30 am-5:00 pm

Special Closings:

January 15, 2024 - Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

February 19, 2024 - President's Day

March 29, 2024 - Good Friday (1/2 Day)

April 26, 2024 - Staff Development

*Hours are subject to change

Trade Journals

Trade Journal: a periodical containing news and items of interest concerning a particular trade.

Trade journal database records indicate source type as a trade publication and what subject is covered by the publication.

An example of a trade journal is this publication which is intended for professional engineers.

Find Trade Journals in HCTC Databases listed below or visit the Library's Catalogs & Databases page for a full list of database options:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Computer Science This link opens in a new window Computer Database provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database includes computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window Criminal Justice Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines on topics in criminal justice and related fields. Key subjects covered in the database include law, law enforcement, security, and terrorism.
Home Improvement This link opens in a new window Home Improvement Collection provides access to titles covering topics including architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and others. The database offers content that meets the needs of hobbyists and professionals alike.
Career and Technical Education This link opens in a new window ProQuest Career & Technical Education is the definitive source for vocational information. The database includes nearly 600 titles, with more than 500 available in full text for quick access to research on virtually any technical topic.
Social Work Reference Center This link opens in a new window Social Work Reference Center is a point-of-care reference tool designed to provide relevant clinical resources to social workers. This database offers evidence-based disease & condition information written specifically for social workers, drug & reference information from AHFS and continuing education modules.

Scholarly Journals

Scholarly Journal: a periodical publication in which scholarship relating to a particular academic discipline is published.

A scholarly journal article's record will indicate the source type as academic as well as peer-reviewed.

An example of a scholarly journal is a journal devoted to medical research that is peer-reviewed.

Find Scholarly Journals in HCTC Databases listed below or visit the Library's Catalogs & Databases page for a full list of database options:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Agricola This link opens in a new window This database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 4.8 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
ERIC This link opens in a new window ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window Literary Reference™ Center (LRC Plus) is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books, literary journals as well as original content from EBSCO Publishing. Literary Reference Center Plus contains everything in Literary Reference™ Center, plus the following: over 1,200 additional full-text literary reference books/works, over 200 additional full-text literary journals and magazines, 35 volumes of new contemporary literature titles from Salem Press, 40 full-text literary study guides and 72 literary videos.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Magazines

Magazine: a periodical publication containing articles and illustrations, typically covering a particular subject or area of interest.

alt=" "

Wired is an example of a magazine. Magazines are generally cheaper to purchase than trade or scholarly journals meant for professional development and are intended for a wider audience.

Find Magazines in HCTC Databases listed below or visit the Library's Catalogs & Databases page for a full list of database options:

MAS Ultra - School Edition This link opens in a new window Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines. MAS Ultra – School Edition also provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
Middle Search Plus This link opens in a new window Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags
Pop Culture Studies This link opens in a new window Pop Culture Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.
Primary Search This link opens in a new window Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.

Newspapers

Newspaper: a printed publication (usually issued daily or weekly) consisting of folded unstapled sheets and containing news, feature articles, advertisements, and correspondence.

alt=" "

The New York Times is an example of a newspaper. Newspapers deliver news to a wide audience and the articles are written by journalists rather than subject experts.

Find Newspapers in HCTC Databases listed below or visit the Library's Catalogs & Databases page for a full list of database options:

Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new window This database provides full-text articles for over 210 publications of the alternative and independent presses, from 1970 to current.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window This database's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue of each newspaper is indexed thoroughly, so researchers have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the papers. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

Books

Book: a written or printed work consisting of pages glued or sewn together along one side and bound in covers.

Killers of the Flower Moon by David Grann, a prior staff writer for the New Yorker Magazine, is a popular non-fiction book about the birth of the FBI.

Books vary in credibility depending on the author, type of book (nonfiction, fiction, textbook, etc.).

Find eBooks in HCTC Databases listed below or visit our Online Catalog to find print books. Visit the Library's Catalogs & Databases page for a full list of database options:

eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter, and is a strong complement for any academic collection. The breadth of information available through this package ensures that users will have access to information relevant to their research needs.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Search and view the full text of eBooks.
PRIMO Catalog This link opens in a new window PRIMO is a catalog which searches both the physical HCTC Library collections as well as digital resources available through HCTC subscribed databases such as EBSCOhost eBooks.

Websites

Website: a location connected to the Internet that maintains one or more pages on the World Wide Web.

alt=" "

WebMD is a popular consumer health website. Website credibility varies by author, partnerships, and affiliations.

Find Websites in HCTC Databases listed below or visit the Library's Catalogs & Databases page for a full list of database options:

Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Government Documents LibGuide Hazard Community & Technical College, Hazard Campus, Stephens Library is a selective federal depository for government documents. Publications are received in paper, microfiche, and CD-ROM. Sources include the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, and many more titles. The federal documents are organized using the Superintendent of Documents classification system, and most are circulating.

Characteristics of Sources

Spring 2024 Hours

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Special Closings:

Spring 2024 Hours

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Special Closings:

Trade Journals

Scholarly Journals

Magazines

Newspapers

Books

Websites