Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What's wrong with just copying and pasting from my sources into my assignment? Isn't that what everyone does?
Documenting sources will help you avoid plagiarizing someone else's work.
Plagiarizing can have serious consequences for college students. They can failing assignments or classes and even getting kicked out of school.
Students can avoid plagiarism by submitting original work and by properly documenting their sources of information. There are three key steps to documenting (citing) sources:
- creating a bibliography
- accurately summarizing or paraphrasing key ideas
- formatting in-text citations
Create a Bibliography of Sources
Use the resources on this page and your class textbooks to create a bibliography of the sources you have collected so far for your project. A bibliography is just a list of the sources that you use in a project: books, articles, websites, interviews, etc. Each source is called a citation.
A bibliography is usually formatted in MLA, APA, or Chicago style. This means that there will be rules about what information to list and how to list it. Check with your professor to see which style to use.
A free citation builder for MLA, APA, Chicago style projects. The free version does not have a place to add the library database title, so keep in mind that you'll need to double check this.
NoodleBib Express from Noodletools
A free citation builder that guides users through the process. Citations can be checked for errors and then cut and pasted into Word for further editing.
Online Writing Lab from Purdue University, which has guides to creating bibliographies and in-text citations in MLA and APA style.
Research and Documentation Online 5th ed.
Diana Hacker and Barbara Fister's guide to creating source citations for a bibliography in MLA, APA, and Chicago styles. This resource also explains how to create in-text citations.
Son of Citation Machine
A free citation builder for MLA and APA style projects.
What's the Difference in Quoting, Summarizing, and Paraphrasing?