LibGuides: Visual Communication: Multimedia: Books

How to search for eBooks on EBSCOHost

Go to the HCTC Library homepage
Select EBSCOhost from the list of available databases
From the list of available EBSCOhost databases, select eBook Academic Collection
Search using keywords for information about your topic(s)

Featured Books

Language of Graphic Design by Richard Poulin
Call Number: NC997 .P63 2011
The Language of Graphic Design provides graphic design students and practitioners with an in-depth understanding of the fundamental elements and principles of their language—graphic design—what they are, why they are important, and how to use them effectively.
Graphic Designer's Guide to Portfolio Design by Debbie Rose Myers
Call Number: NC1001 .M94 2013
With sample portfolios, interviews with leaders in graphic design and advertising industries, and step–by–step instruction for creating professional print and digital portfolios, this book helps students successfully transition from design student to design professional.
Accessibility Handbook by Katie Cunningham
Call Number: TK5105.888 .C86 2012
Get practical guidelines for making your website accessible to people with disabilities. With this handbook, you’ll learn how to design or develop a site that conforms to Section 508 of the US Rehabilitation Act—and in the process you’ll discover how to provide a better user experience for everyone.

Tools

Use These Call Numbers to Browse the Library Shelves
Want to just browse the shelves? Try this list of call numbers from the Library of Congress. Use it like an address to find medical books on the shelves at HCTC Libraries.

Library of Congress Subject Headings

LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION OUTLINE

CLASS A - GENERAL WORKS

CLASS N - FINE ARTS

CLASS T - TECHNOLOGY

Librarian

Cathy Branson

Email Me

Contact:

Stephens Library
1 Community College Drive
Hazard, KY 41701
800-246-7521 (73550)

Lees College Campus Library
601 Jefferson Avenue
Jackson, KY 41339
800-246-7521 (73550)

Subjects: Appalachian Studies, Critical Thinking & Information Literacy, Distance Learning, Education, English, International, Nursing, Religion

Featured Books

Disney's Art of Animation #1 by Bob Thomas
Call Number: NC1766.U52 D568
Thomas celebrates the magic of animation, explaining the basic techniques and giving examples of story sketches, layout animation drawings and background paintings--all the elements that go into the making of an animated film.
100 Ideas That Changed Graphic Design by Veronique Vienne; Steven Heller
Call Number: NC998 .H4456 2012 Lees Campus
The 100 entries, arranged broadly in chronological order, range from technical (overprinting, rub-on designs, split fountain); to stylistic (swashes on caps, loud typography, and white space); to objects (dust jackets, design handbooks); and methods (paper cut-outs, pixelation).
Girl on the Magazine Cover by Carolyn Kitch
Call Number: P94.5.W652 U655
From the Gibson Girl to the flapper, from the vamp to the New Woman, Carolyn Kitch traces mass media images of women to their historical roots on magazine covers, unveiling the origins of gender stereotypes in early-twentieth-century American culture.
Virtual Presentations That Work by Joel Gendelman
Call Number: HF5718.22 .G46 2010
With today's virtual technology, you can manage your business faster, reduce your expenses, and reach a larger market than ever before. The technology is there. All you need is the imagination and talent to harness its power.