LibGuides: FYE 105: Academic Success

Narrow Subject by HCTC Databases

EBSCOhost Databases	Academic Search Complete	eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)	eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)	MasterFILE Premier	Newspaper Source	TOPICsearch	American Doctoral Dissertations
Gale Databases	Academic OneFile	Pop Culture Collection
Other HCTC Databases	ProQuest	Opposing Viewpoints In Context (KYVL)

Background Research
Disclaimer: Module developed by and for students of Brigham Young University and includes contact information for the librarians of that institution. Contact HCTC Librarians (under the Need Help? tab) for assistance with your research needs.
more...less...
Supplemental learning activity developed by Harold B. Lee Library of Brigham Young University.
Search Strategies
Disclaimer: Module developed by and for students of Brigham Young University and includes contact information for the librarians of that institution. Contact HCTC Librarians (under the Need Help? tab) for assistance with your research needs.
more...less...
Supplemental Learning Activity developed by Harold B. Lee Library of Brigham Young University.

Dive Into the Databases
This self-guided activity tests users basic database skills in using search limiters, choosing a database based on description, and using citation tools in the EBSCOhost and Gale 2.0 databases.

HCTC Databases

Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia

Credo Reference

EBSCOhost Databases

AHFS Consumer Medication Information

CINAHL

CINAHL with Full Text

(Preferred)

Health Source - Consumer Edition

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

MEDLINE

Gale Databases

Health Reference Center Academic

Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module

Nursing and Allied Health Collection

Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection

EBSCOhost Databases	ERIC	MAS Ultra - School Edition	Middle Search Plus	Primary Search	Professional Development Collection	Teacher Reference Center
Gale Databases	Testing & Education Reference Center

EBSCOhost Databases	Library Information Science & Technology Abstracts	Military & Government Collection	Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection	PsycINFO	Social Work Reference Center	Sociological Collection
Gale Databases	Criminal Justice Collection	Diversity Studies Collection	Gender Studies Collection	Information Science and Library Issues Collection	Psychology Collection	War and Terrorism Collection

EBSCOhost Databases	Literary Reference Center Plus	Religion and Philosophy Collection
Gale Databases	Communications and Mass Media Collection	Fine Arts and Music Collection	Religion and Philosophy Collection	World History Collection

Gale Databases

Computer Database

Home Improvement Collection

Vocations and Careers Collection

EBSCOhost Databases	Agricola	GreenFILE
Gale Databases	Agriculture Collection	Environmental Studies and Policy Collection

EBSCOhost Databases	Business Source Premier	Regional Business News	Small Business Reference Center
Gale Databases	Business Economics and Theory	Small Business Collection

LCC Scavenger Hunt
Learn the Library of Congress Classification System through this self-guided, active learning game! A get-up-and-move activity, match the description of a subject to a book from that section and promote exploration of the shelves.
Learning LCC
This matching activity allows students to become familiar with the basic subject based categorization scheme of the Library of Congress Classification System. Students match the provided scambled book titles with the most relevant LCC subject headings.

How to Access and Save Files to OneDrive This document shows students how to access their OneDrive Account files as well as how to save documents to this cloud account from their Office 365 software.

00:11:00

ACT Academy
The free, online learning platform is designed to help students around the world pinpoint areas of academic weakness, improve their ACT scores and master the core skills they need to prepare for success in college and career.