Book Catalogs
Library Search is a research tool for finding HCTC Libraries resources including print and electronic books, journals, magazines, etc.
NOTE: Resources at other KCTCS Libraries can be located by using the library “limiter” on the right side of the results page.
Library Search Books allows you to search for physical items at both HCTC Libraries including print items and audiovisuals, including DVDs and Audiobooks on CD.
Check out the newest items available at the Stephens Library from WorldCat.org!
NoveList offers fiction readers advisory services, genre and age-appropriate reading lists.
WorldCat is an online public access catalog for other libraries in the U.S. and around the world.
Article / eBook Databases
Credo: Search full-text online versions of 900+ published reference works from 117 publishers, in a variety of major subjects. These include general and subject dictionaries as well as encyclopedias.
EBSCOhost: Find magazine and scholarly journal articles, primary sources, newspaper articles, eBooks and more.
Gale Resources: Research journals, magazines, newspapers and more than 175 million pages of primary sources. Includes Opposing Viewpoints In Context and the popular Peterson’s Test and Career Prep.
Gale Presents: Peterson's Test Prep Resource Guide
KYVL: The Kentucky Virtual Library (KYVL) provides library and information resources to all Kentuckians to support information literacy, college & career readiness (LearningExpress Library), academic research and lifelong learning.
LearningExpress Library Quick Start Guide
Get to Know EBSCO's LearningExpress Library Resources - KYVL
ProQuest: Alternative & Independent magazines, journals and newspaper articles from Alt-Press Watch, vocational information & career search resources in the Career and Technical Education database, and statewide & regional newspaper coverage in the Global Newsstream databases.
Additional Helpful Information:
Please download the PDF to your computer to make Adobe's "Read Aloud" tool available.
Federal Government Documents / Kentucky Government Resources
Click HERE for more info about Federal Depository Library and Kentucky government resources.
Other Databases & Resources
Ancestry Library Edition (Accessible on HCTC Campus Computers):
Discover your ancestral family members in census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more in this genealogy resource.
Ancestry Library Edition LibGuide
Films on Demand is a streaming video service with educational programming in a variety of subjects from well-known production companies.
The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. Full-Text articles are available in EBSCOhost’s Academic Search Complete from 1999 to Present (with a 30 day delay).
The Washington Post is an American daily newspaper published in Washington, D.C. The Post was founded in 1877 and has won over 69 Pulitzer Prizes. The newspaper is currently owned by Nash Holdings, a holdings company established by Jeff Bezos of Amazon.